With the 2016 Major League Baseball regular season quickly approaching its conclusion, the full playoff schedule was officially released Tuesday.  

As seen in this tweet, courtesy of MLB Communications, the American League and National League Wild Card Games will take place on Oct. 4 and 5, respectively, and the World Series will begin on Oct. 25:

TBS will be the exclusive television carrier of AL postseason games, while the NL will be split between ESPN, FS1 and MLB Network before Fox takes over for the World Series.

Much like last year, the World Series will utilize a 2-3-2 format with Games 1 and 2 being played in the AL ballpark, Games 3, 4 and 5 if necessary taking place in the NL venue and Games 6 and 7 occurring at the AL field if needed because of the American League’s All-Star Game triumph.

Should at least one of the AL and NL Division Series go the distance in addition to the NL Championship Series, it is possible that the only day without any postseason baseball prior to the World Series will be Oct. 24.

That format ensures there will be no more than two off days during the World Series, and the latest it can end is Nov. 2.


Follow @MikeChiari on Twitter.

Read more MLB news on BleacherReport.com