Justin Verlander tossed his second career no-hitter Saturday against the Toronto Blue Jays, joining only 29 other pitchers in Major League Baseball history to throw two or more no-hitters in a career.

Verlander lost his bid for a perfect game in the eighth inning when he allowed a walk to J.P. Arencibia on a 12-pitch at bat with one out.

Verlander threw only 108 pitches in the game, and was still reaching 100 MPH in the ninth inning. He struck out four batters.

He threw his first no-hitter on June 12, 2007 against the Milwaukee Brewers, striking out 12 Brewers while walking four.

The remarkable part of Verlander’s accomplishment is that it comes while he is still just 28 years old. To put this in full perspective, only five pitchers have ever thrown three or more no-hitters in their career; at only 28 years old and still in the prime of his career, Verlander could join that exclusive club.

From this point forward, every start Justin Verlander makes will have the potential to be a historic event for Major League Baseball.

In addition to being able to break into one of the most exclusive clubs in baseball history, Verlander also has the potential to reach the record for most no-hitters with a single team (four). While it seems like a long shot, he could reach the record for most no-hitters in the American League (six) if he can throw four more no-nos during his career (assuming he doesn’t move to the National League at some point).

Mark Buehrle and Roy Halladay are the only other active pitchers with multiple no-hitters. Halladay is 33 years old, though, and Buehrle is 32. Verlander is the youngest of the three and will stand the best chance of repeatin.

Three+ No-Hitter Club

Only Cy Young (three), Larry Corcoran (three), Bob Feller (three), Sandy Koufax (four) and Nolan Ryan (seven) have more no-hitters in their career.


Two+ No-Hitter Club

Justin Verlander 2007 2011          
Al Atkinson 1884 1886
Ted Breitenstein 1891 1898
Mark Buehrle 2007 2009
Jim Bunning 1956 1959
Steve Busby 1973 1974
Larry Corcoran 1880 1882 1884
Carl Erskine 1952 1956
Bob Feller 1940 1946 1951
Bob Forsch 1978 1983
Pud Galvin 1880 1884
Roy Halladay 2010 2010
Ken Holtzman 1969 1971
Randy Johnson 1990 2004
Addie Joss 1908 1910
Sandy Koufax 1962 1963 1964 1965
Dutch Leonard 1916 1918
Jim Maloney 1965 1969
Christy Mathewson 1901 1905
Hideo Nomo 1996 2001
Allie Reynolds 1951 1951
Nolan Ryan 1973 1973 1974 1975 1981 1990 1991
Frank Smith 1905 1908
Warren Spahn 1960 1961
Bill Stoneman 1969 1972
Adonis Terry 1886 1888
Virgil Trucks 1952 1952
Johnny Vandermeer 1938 1938
Don Wilson 1967 1969
Cy Young 1897 1904 1908


Brandon McClintock covers Major League Baseball for BleacherReport.com. You can follow him on Twitter:  @BMcClintock_BR.

Read more MLB news on BleacherReport.com