As mentioned earlier this week, I belong to the Baseball Bloggers Alliance where I serve as president of the category of the BBA that defies definition. While most of the 230 or so blogs in the Alliance are team-centric, this “miscellaneous” merry band of men and women (we’re working on a better designation) take a wider look at the national pastime.

The previous post announced Dusty Baker as our choice for the Connie Mack (manager of the year) Award. This time we selected the top National league rookie for 2010 season, the Willie Mays Award.

Using a 5-3-1 system for the top three choices, here’s the breakdown:

Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants, 27 points (4-2-1)
Jason Hayward, Atlanta Braves, 25 (2-5-0)
Ike Davis, New York Mets, 5 (1-0-0)
Jaime Garcia, St. Louis Cardinals 2 (0-0-2)
Chris Johnson (Houston Astros),  Stephen Strasburg (Washington Nationals), Starlin Castro (Chicago Cubs) received one point each.

So, congratulations to Posey, who played 108 games for the Giants, batting a team-leading .305 with 18 home runs and 67 RBIs to help them into the postseason.

Write a quick comment

Read more MLB news on